Author Topic: Gimmick Cover Cavalcade!: Force Works #1  (Read 9584 times)

Offline JackFrost

• Super Hero
  • I've seen the future. I can't afford it.
Gimmick Cover Cavalcade!: Force Works #1
« on: February 16, 2009, 02:25:18 AM »
Note: These have been cleared off Demonoid, so I wanted to make sure I didn't lose them entirely, so I'll post them here.

Ah, comics in the '90s.

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times...

The 'speculator market' was in full swing, and publishers were more than happy to give these people the collectibles they thought they desired, and the speculators would in turn buy 10 copies and bag, board & hoard them. Though most would get them signed first, naturally. ::) As an aside: the benefit of the speculator market was the sheer diversity of titles in lots of genres.

I worked in a shop through most of the decade, and at the time I despised gimmick covers. Now I just see how stupid and laughable many of them were. A 'fools and their money' kind-of-thing. And luckily, true to my prediction based on the fact that you can't make a collectible, they're virtually worthless. So adding a few to the collection isn't a big deal. So now I have a bunch of them -- kind of a guilty pleasure, you might say. ;) And it's hard to describe some of them to people, sometimes, so it's better to just show them.

At some point during the boom, speculators looking for the next Action Comics #1 were convinced that gimmick covers were going to be a good bet for that kind of 'investment'. And there were a ton of them. A few were pretty cool, most were really bad. And some were downright ridiculous.

Case in point:

(Click here for larger image)

Force Works #1
48 pgs
$3.95 (Yikes!)
July 1994
Marvel Comics

Cover Pencils: Tom Tenny (Who?)
Cover Inks: Rey Garcia (Que?)