Author Topic: Cloning hard drive  (Read 4357 times)

Offline jacktheripper305

• Cro-Magnon
Cloning hard drive
« on: June 05, 2009, 10:34:52 PM »
So, here's what I want to do:

It's time to do a clean install on my desktop. In order to save some time and energy with redownloading all my programs and changing all my settings, I want to clone the hard drive from my new laptop, and copy it onto my desktop. I assume I'll need an external hard drive, but whats the best way to do this? Whats the best program to use? Is this even the best way to go?

Any advice is always appreciated!

Thanks

Offline hmed2390

• Human
  • Oh boy what a big mess, even Mickey's on acid!
Re: Cloning hard drive
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2009, 10:56:37 PM »
I'm no expert, and I'm sure most here can give you a better perspective than I can, but from what I've learned and experienced the hard way, for the most part, you don't want to clone your hard drive if your intent is to use it for another system. What I mean is that, you're planning on cloning your laptop hdd, which has its settings and OS installation geared towards working in favor of your specs, hardware setup, BIOS config, etc...So you're better off just installing the OS from scratch and then working with the backup that you have.
I understand the time this would consume, and the reason you would want to maintain everything as is.

A couple of years back, I cloned my hdd of my Sony Vaio desktop and copied it to the hdd of my HP pavilion desktop. After 3 or less reboots, the entire OS went haywire, and I could not boot back into windows for the world. Apparently, and from what I was told, read, it had a lot to do with the BIOS(and the fact that they're obviously different between the two vendors I chose to swap with) so in that sense I was left with no choice but to start anew. Thank god for external hdds and the whole concept of backing up every two seconds. :P